Our Blog

Reps. Smith, Sensenbrenner, Rohrabacher stake claims to Science Committee gavel

The race to be the next chairman of the House Science, Space and Technology Committee is getting under way.

Rep. James Sensenbrenner (R-Wis.), a climate change skeptic, on Wednesday explained why he’s seeking the gavel.

Sensenbrenner, in a statement, said he wants to lead the panel because the nation’s science and space policy is at a “critical juncture,” and that he would bring strong oversight to what he alleges is politicized science under President Obama.

Rep. Ralph Hall (R-Texas), the current chairman, must hand off the gavel due to term limits.

Sensenbrenner faces competition for the slot from Rep. Lamar Smith (R-Texas) and Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R-Calif.), whom an aide said is “actively pursuing” the chairmanship. Sensenbrenner said his first priority will be to “pass smart science and space policy that spurs job creation and ensures America’s future competitiveness.”

He has questioned the views held by the vast majority of scientists about global warming and disputed the notion that the effects of carbon dioxide emissions are dangerous.

Click here to read more from this November 7, 2012 article in The Hill by Ben German.

Tags: , , ,

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work! Please upgrade today!